The Body In Society Study Group – Why I’m Interested.

I was very happy when I saw the update on Moodle that I had got my two Constellation study group choices: The Body In Society (Term 1) and Archaeologies Of The Unseen (Term 2).

I was very, very happy with my term 1 choice, because my theme to my own practise is Gender Identity, and I felt that TBIS study group matched my interest, as it would teach me a lot more about the body, its history and potentially, gender. I knew it would be my main choice of study group after the first lecture with Dr. Ashley Morgan, as she spoke about the hierachy of men and that reeled me in, because it was fascinating and so relevant to my studies in my Subject.

I have recently started to work on a Design Sheet, that held my research up to date and my outcomes so far in workshops and individually. I have read books from the Library about Gender and Art, how it relates to one another and how it relates to me.

I have my own experience with Gender as a female-to-male transgender student. I knew it was something I was very interested in, inspired by and influenced with, as my work in my last college year turned in that direction and if I’m honest, it was the most fun I’ve had with my work, that held strong interest and raised an interesting topic that is often ignored or overlooked.

I found the week one PowerPoint Presentation that Dr. Morgan uploaded to Moodle resourceful. It was an interesting read, as it was a brief introduction to the body and its history. I wrote down notes from what I took from the PowerPoint Presentation in my notebook and found myself thinking about its contents for the rest of the week. I’m enthusiastic for my Study Group this Thursday as I know it will be resourceful and will help me build an even stronger foundation for my Project Proposal to my Project Brief.

Week One

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

