“Duality”


I can’t believe how fast this term has gone; it’s been incredible term and I’ve gained so much knowledge since starting. Christmas break and formative assessment is upon us and with that, comes a lot of dedicated work, passion and enthusiasm for developing my own individual project.

Duality.

As an artist, I am inspired by music. Music helps me develope my creative thoughts, ideas and inspires me. I am nearly always listening to music when I am blogging, writing, creating or making.

When I decided on what idea for my individual project I was going to develop further, I had spent a lot of time at that point listening to a song called ‘Duality’ by Set It Off. Cody Carson spoke about how the song is a reflexion on how real he is inside and outside of the band. It spoke to me, because it is about having two different sides to you, but they’re apart of you.

I decided to name my series of final outcomes ‘Duality’ after this song, because I have a lot of duality; I am transgender but that is only one part of me. I am human, I’m flawed and I’m imperfect. I felt it was only fitting that my series of 3D Reliefs were called ‘Duality’, as it speaks about having different sides to you. I am more than transgender, but that is one quantity of me.

I’m very pleased with my outcomes because they have been worked into, PVA’d, painted, covered in ink, text transfers and a few had been purposely broken. I found it quite interesting to purposely break off certain parts where there’s solitary fingers or a small group of them. I think it is definitely a part of the process to intentionally and unintentionally break your work; you can have some ‘happy’ mistakes but they’re also learning curves.

If I had more time to continue these, I would produce more and in a broader variety of materials; like Bronze, Pewter, Alginate, 3D Printed, Resin, Ceramic, Aluminium, Iron, Steel etc. I would also look at how I could make them more sculptural forms, which is what I’m aiming to be producing by the end of the summer term.

“Duality”

I can’t quite contain or explain my evil ways
Or explain why I’m not sane
All I can say is this is your warning
I can’t quite contain or explain my evil ways
Or explain why I’m not sane
All I can say is this is your warning, duality

I have a confession that you will not believe
That you could not perceive this freak, gonna set it off
I have a confession, of a side that I hide
It’s a cloak or disguise unleashed, gonna get it off

No, I’ll never get away
Cause if I try to stray
It only holds me closer
No, I’ll never get away
I love it anyway
I’ll never stop

I can’t quite contain or explain my evil ways
Or explain why I’m not sane
All I can say is this is your warning
I can’t quite contain or explain my evil ways
Or explain why I’m not sane
All I can say is this is your warning, duality

I have an impression, in the back of my mind
For the black in my tie contains our dirty thoughts
Make me an obsession, when you lock me inside
For the ride of your life unleashed, gonna get it off

No, can’t count the list of things
I know are wrong with me
No need to justify them
No, I’ll never take the blame
So I’ll just stay the same
I’ll never stop

I can’t quite contain or explain my evil ways
Or explain why I’m not sane
All I can say is this is your warning
I can’t quite contain or explain my evil ways
Or explain why I’m not sane
All I can say is this is your warning, duality

I am good, I am evil
I am solace, I am chaos
I am human, and that’s all I’ve ever wanted to be

No, can’t count the list of things
I know are wrong with me
No need to justify them
No, I’ll never get away
I love it any way
I’ll never stop

I can’t quite contain or explain my evil ways
Or explain why I’m not sane
All I can say is this is your warning
I can’t quite contain or explain my evil ways
Or explain why I’m not sane
All I can say is this is your warning, duality

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

1 thought on ““Duality””

Leave a Reply

