Scanning and Augmentation.

This morning started off with Ingrid speaking to the group about the week’s trip over the Easter holidays to France, somewhere near Bourdo, in La Perdrix. I am hoping to go the first week of the holidays, which is the 29th March. I’m not sure how well I will cope in an entirely different country or in new surroundings with my anxiety, but, I also don’t want to pass up this amazing-sounding-opportunity.

After the introduction about the Easter trip to France, Ingrid was telling us about the 3D scanners that allowed us to scan people’s heads onto a computer or Mac. Freya’s head was the first one to be scanned and was edited in Autodesk’s Meshmixer, where Ingrid played around with the 3D image and gave Freya spiky hair, as well as patching up a few holes due to either a glitch or the people who were doing the scanning walking too slow that caused the holes. I was very happy to have my head 3D scanned, although I’d really wished Ingrid would’ve edited out my double chins on Meshmixer hahah! I’d love to have a copy of the file, as 3D scanning is potentially something that I want to link into my next project. But I’m not 100% sure yet. Either way, it looks like great and can produce some really amazing things.

We also got to register accounts to Aurasma Studio, where we got to play and experiment with different types of Augmentation. I thought it was absolutely fun and got a few different styled Auras filmed and played around with. I’m totally excited about learning more about Augmentation etc in the coming weeks. It’s been an absolutely fantastic workshop and I can’t wait for another session to hopefully happen on it.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

