Glass Workshop with Martin.

In my workshop with Martin today, I learned how to cut standard glass with an oiled like pen that had a blade on the end of it. I can’t remember what it was called, but it sc0rched along the glass, before you had to flip the glass over and gently press, before it cracked in half along the scorched lines.

I decided to have small blocks of four, so I would end up with two glass tiles, as they needed to be doubled up when being fired. I then started to paint on one sheet of glass, with two different shades of green; dark green and apple green, as well as a light blue and white to create a mixture of sea-like texture, before adding in a small amount of black to add some shading into it. I sprinkled gold flakes just above the sea pattern to create a textured sand effect, before I left it to dry and moved onto the next sheet of glass, where I painted the top part of it white mixed in with tiny amounts of blue and black to create a shaded tone to mimic the sky. I used a very fine tipped brush to stroke small black lines across the glass to represent the outline of birds flying and scooping the scene.

For the second one, I used a fine tipped brush to create a plant of some description with flowers blossoming off of it on one sheet of glass, whilst on the other sheet of glass, I mixed black, orange and yellowy red together to create a brown/black mixtured tone to create a silhouette of a tree. I then used the apple green to create leaves falling from the tree down through the air.

For my last tile, I used a photograph of one of my dogs, Mr. Fu which I used as a template to create an outline of shape, before I mixed brown, red, yellow and orange together to create the chestnuty red/brown shade my dog’s fur is. I used black and white to add in the features of the eyes and nose, etc before I left them all to dry, ready to be fired.

After they were fired, the garden scene one didn’t come out as I’d hoped, the one of my dog came out better than I expected it too, but next time, it definitely would need an improvement of colours and positioning if I was to do it again. However, my beach scene came out absolutely breath-taking. The colours came out better than I could’ve ever hoped for, the gold flaked sand gave it a hint of texture that was different to the rest of it, whilst the sky and birds came out better than I expected. My favourite definitely had to be the beach one. I loved this process and would love to do it more!

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

