MeshMixing Organs.

I downloaded MeshMixer onto my laptop on Saturday and spent a lot of the afternoon fiddling around with it, just getting to know my way around the software and its tools.

It’s only this evening that I have done some research by watching a MeshMixer Basics introduction video on YouTube, as I found that whenever I used a certain tool, it crushed my 3D design more so than ‘smoothed’ and curved it. I wanted to try understand why it wasn’t working correctly. This helped me get my head around all the different settings attached to the different tools.
MeshMixer Basics

First I started of by making my object solid, under the edit tools as shown below. When I tried before, the sculpting tools only made my cybernetic heart look a mess. I found that by making it a solid object, the sculpting tools started smoothing over the mechanical texture to my cybernetic heart.

In the Sculpt tools, shown below, I circled the tools I predominantly used. To start with, I used the first Draw tool, to make it more curved than square and I began to become pleased when I slowly started to see the difference. I used the Flatten tool as small bits of the heart started becoming ‘fatter’ than other parts so I had to fix that. As an overall finish, after all the tweaking with the two tools I firstly used, I finished it with the Bubble Smooth tool, smoothing out all the joining lines and making it look quite polished.

 

I feel my cybernetic heart looks more fleshy and organic now than it did when I first mocked it up in Rhino in uni. It looks less mechanical and all the joinings are no longer visible. So I was quite happy. Especially when I compared the mockups from Rhino to my fleshy outcome from MeshMixer.

Mockups from Rhino:

After editing on MeshMixer:


I repeated the same process with my cybernetic lungs and felt both outcomes looked more fleshy and organic, after they were edited on MeshMixer. I am happy as they look less steampunk and mechanical now. Especially with the lungs, as they no longer look like a rocket, ready to take off.

Before:

mechlungs

After:

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

