Alginate and Modrock Face Casting

Well today was just another usual day in uni, where I decided that I wanted to have my face cast as we were learning more about Alginate and Modrock Casting with Martin over in studio 5.

I wasn’t sure how I was going to react to having it done but wanted to do it as it would be an interesting, albeit, maybe panicky experience. I first started by using Vaseline and rubbing it into my face, so my face would become greasy. I even had to grease my nostrils, eyelids/eyelashes and eyebrows. Once I was all greased up, I sat down with a clear-through piece of plastic.. or something… over my head, covering most of my clothing from getting mucky. My hair was protected by a clingfilm cap and Vicki made me breathing straws out of small pieces of card, taped together. When my nostril straws (that’s it’s new name) were in place, Georgie and Vicki mixed up the alginate.


Once my whole face was covered in Alginate, it was left to set for three minutes, before the Modrock could be covered over the top, so the Alginate would have a support structure and not be too fragile when it would be removed from my face.

When the Modrock set, my cast was removed and I felt a slight bit of relief, as I am claustrophobic and I was getting a bit panicky if I’m honest, but it was such a good experience and I can’t wait to see what it looks like end of the week, after Martin has casted it in something else! I’m gonna send it to my mum so she won’t miss my face any more! Was a challenging experience and one I definitely had fun doing, even if my anxiety did not! In the future too, this could be useful for another project, maybe in year 2. Who knows! Either way, this was a good material and process to capture a lot of detail and only took half an hour to cast my face. May well use it again.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

