“Ghosts of the Past” – Archaeological Artefacts Exhibition

I was trying to get my pyramid and imagery sorted today before our work was due to be exhibited at 2pm, but discovered not long before 2pm that the imagery had to be moving gifs in order to work and create the 3D hologram inside the pyramid. Whilst mid-panic, I downloaded an app on my tablet that had a continuous loop of demo videos that had moving imagery, so when my Artefact was displayed, the plaque with my Artefact’s information on didn’t resemble what was inside my box that is yet to be turned into an old fashioned Camera Obscura.

My next challenge is figuring out how to create a gif of an 18th Century tombstone, because I can’t exactly move it. I may have to get some fabric and have that moving on the tombstone to create the gifs. I’m not sure yet but I’m positive I’ll work it out as I really thought the 3D hologram was quite cool and it piqued people’s interest.

I’m a bit disappointed I didn’t get any thoughts or feedback from it during the exhibition, as we had to go around with sticky notes and write little comments on each other’s pieces. All I got as “Hologram” written on a sticky note by my friend Becca! Would’ve been nice to hear people’s thoughts on my piece but it’s still a work in progress and I am equally excited to see what it will be like by May, for summetive assessment.

12512559_1656685344581567_7927043452741940726_n

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

