Glass Jewellery


In glass today with Martin, we were making small glass jewellery. I wanted to create a cojoined heart pendant for my mum and after it’s been fired, I intend to engrave ‘mum & son’ into one of the hearts and ‘T.C.G’ into the other which is my little brother’s initials.

I decided to go for the glass that was sort of rainbow coloured, as it was more gender-neutral and just looked very pretty. I had fun making small jewellery in Martin’s workshop in studio 5.

There was an equivelant in the workshop to that of the bandsaw downstairs in the wood workshop but the only difference was, this one spouted water to defuse glass
dust for health and safety. I am never very comfortable or confident with these sort of machines so Martin cut out the hearts for me, because I was literally terrified.

I sanded them down to remove the sharp edges as I potentially want it to be worn by my mum and don’t want to end up scratching her neck with jagged pieces of glass for a pendant. Once this was done, all the jewellery pieces were taken downstairs to the kiln, ready to be fired.

I am excited to see how these turn out after they have been fired in the kiln. I have a small video clip of Martin explaining the heat temperatures we have to use but I will not post it on here until I have asked Martin if he is okay with it going on the internet. If not, it will be deleted after being noted down what temperatures to use when firing small glass pieces.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

