Pewter Casting Cybernetic Lungs

Yesterday afternoon, I went over to studio 5 and asked Martin if I could Pewter Cast now that my moulds were set and ready to use. Firstly, I had to gently pry apart the silicon mould. Once the mould was apart, Martin lightly dusted it with some black powder that I do not know is called but I’m guessing it helps the pewter not stick to the inside of the silicon moulds.

12782296_1656987467884688_2099648285_n

The next step was making clamps out of black metal to hold the mould together, to prevent Pewter slipping out of the edges. I made 7 clamps as it was an odd shape and four clamps wasn’t enough to hold it all together.

12769608_1656987461218022_312869809_n
Today, I used the hand saw to cut off the excess pewter on my lungs and this took about 10-15 minutes. Afterwards, I obtained the file to gently file down the rough patches from where I sawed into the pewter cast. Once this was done, my Pewter Cast looked pretty awesome and I was very pleased with the outcome. Especially as it was the first pour and I hadn’t used Pewter before. I now know what to do when I go to pewter cast my other Cybernetic Organs soon.

 

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

