Merpeople & Victorian Hairbrushes – Beautiful and Useable.

Definition of Merpeople:

Merfolk or Merpeople may refer to mythical or fictional creatures:

  • Mermaid or mergirl, a female merperson
  • Merman or merboy, a male merperson
  • Merfolk (Dungeons & Dragons), a fictional race of humanoids that live underwater in Dungeons & Dragons
  • Merfolk, humanoid aquatic creatures with fish-like characteristics in Magic: The Gathering.
  • Merfolk, humanoid aquatic creatures with fish-like characteristics in Spectromancer.

 

It has been said that mermaids/mermen have been inspired by manatees and other Aquatic creatures. I purely just like the form they are depicted to have and feel like the form would make beautiful shapes for my hairbrush and hairpin set.

Images are from Google Images.

“Before we had hair brushes and combs, broken seashells, animals bones, and jagged stones were used for untangling hair. African women traditionally employed porcupine quills to undo cornrow braids, for example. Some believe hair brushes evolved from paint brushes. Eventually, people thought to drill holes in a paddle, attach bristles to the holes, and add a handle. Hair brushes, combs, and mirrors have been excavated from the tombs of ancient Egyptians, and hieroglyphics even show royalty wearing neatly kept wigs. Combs have also been discovered at archaeological digs in Persia, and Viking documents reveal that the men groomed with combs.” – Source of information.

I like the idea of using a hairbrush and hairpin set and I am very, very taken with the Victorian era. So I am looking at Victorian Hairbrushes and hairpins to start getting inspiration. My plan is to 3D mock up both in Rhino, then 3D print them. I plan on buying a normal paddle brush and removing the pad with the bristles as I want to insert them into my 3D printed brush. For the hairpin, I was thinking about 3D printing a shell and casting a mould of it then I could try it in resin, glass, pewter, etc and see which one would work the best.

I plan to start on these today as well as my crests for my workshop led project and I am also continuing my Future Generations project today, so I think I am going to be spending all day on Rhino.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

