Merperson Hair Brush

After a lot of frustrating hours on trying to fill in, and cut out certain parts for my hair brush design for the project in Subject, Beautiful and Useable, I am finally happy with the way it is looking and I am excited about sending it to print next week.

merperson.jpg

Since the last time people saw it, especially Pip Lawrence for my formative assessment, the tail was still an open end object. That has now been filled in and is a fully fledged 3D object in its own right.  I am extremely pleased with this despite all the hard work that went into mocking this up in Rhino and the frustration it caused, the form is beautiful and I can’t wait to finish this one.

merperson1

Once its 3D printed, I am going over to Martin’s workshop in Studio 5, to ask if it would be possible to enamel the backing of this and the seashell pin, as I feel that would complete its surface design and make it more desirable and beautiful than it already is. I am hoping this is possible, if not, I will ask Martin if there are any other materials or processes I can use to accomplish my desired surface outcome.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

