Resin Cast of Cybernetic Lungs & Touch up of Cybernetic Heart

My plan for my cybernetic lungs for Future Generations is to experiment a bit more with material but I want to take it from a clear resin into a wax mould so I can then transfer it into a glass outcome. I want the lungs to be see through, to present the fragility of their existence within our bodies. They’re a vital part of our body’s system.

The outcome of the transparent resin came out very well. A lot better than I originally predicted, until I had to clean up the excess resin on the tip of the lungs. Due to having to use a jewellery saw to trim it down, one of the lungs somehow managed to snap off and this has since been fixed with glue. If transparent resin will be my final outcome for my lungs, I will re-cast but for now, a semi-failed experimentation is good demonstration for how easily things can go wrong.

My black, metallic resin cast didn’t come out as well as I had hoped but knew it was a risk to try cast regardless, due to all the nodes and nodules. There was a lot of ‘pocket’ / ‘air’ bubbles in the object itself and so I had to perform heart surgery. Literally. I had to mix up some more black, metallic resin to gently fill the tiny pocket holes. I even tried to fix the gaping hole that was on the top of the cybernetic heart. The idea was to fill all the smaller holes, then place the heart back into the mould and re-cast to fill the gaping hole fully. I hope this will fix the problem, if not I will have to re-think how to achieve this outcome.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

