Melting Wax mould down – Stage 2

After the plaster mould had set, I went down to the foundry to burn out my wax mould so I could then cast glass into the empty plaster mould. Melting the wax mould down was an easy but kind of boring process, as I literally just sat there, watching steam, water and melted wax run down into a box container. I had to frequently move aside wax so it didn’t build like a tetris block. Once this was complete, Martin placed the plaster mould inside the glass kiln. Nothing else I can do now but wait until the glass is set.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

