The Exploration of ‘Siteless & Cited’ – Contextualisation and Experimentation.

After getting my project brief in Subject for Siteless and Cited (see previous post under Subject for reference for project brief), I have since gone to the library and withdrawn a selection of books for inspiration.

I have been looking at shapes and forms within Architectural structures – by ‘light’ browsing through Islamic Architecture, I have noticed how a shape is continually repeated throughout the design. For example, the dome is circular which patterns upwards, like the photo shows.

In the ‘BIM In Small-Scale Sustainable Design’ library book, I have noticed a continual repeat of rectangles or squares as displayed above in the photos. I have found this quite fascinating and the continual pattern of squares started to inspire me, which led to starting experimentation with different materials.

The starting point was Mind Puzzles – ‘The Bedlam Cube’ took apart, I started to rebuild the cube without the intention of returning it to a cube. I found these were easy to build shapes and forms. I was fascinated by how they interlocked, making them look more complex than what they actually were. I also liked the mechanics of the wooden mind puzzle – there was one singular piece that interlocked the entire puzzle. After playing around with these puzzle pieces for a while, I created this form that I have currently stuck with.

Relating back to the ‘BIM’ book on Sustainable Design, the entire form consists of rectangles, no matter which angle you approach it. I found it visually pleasing to look at, so I popped down to soft modelling to pick up an amount of blue foam to experiment with. I chose blue foam because it is easy to manipulate and is a quick, efficient way of creating a visual maquette to further inform my studies.


‘M.C. Escher: Art and Science’ was one of the books I withdrew from the library and this was heavily influencial as Escher’s work references shapes and forms – likewise to Francois Blanciak’s 1,001 Siteless Forms that was included in our project brief. I found this book on Escher’s work very resourceful, as it contained our basic 3D shapes and ways to manipulate them, which I felt related to what I was trying to achieve with my experimentation.

Using one piece of the puzzle, I accurately drew around the shape and used a scapel to peel away unnecessary foam. This process took me a fair amount of time but I found it relaxing to model it by hand, rather than machinery down in soft modelling.

Once one block was sculpted, I moved onto the next piece of the puzzle – this one would be the interlocking piece and had to be perfectly measured with one of the puzzle pieces to ensure it would securely lock into my first block of foam. I repeated the same process, before figuring out where I wanted the second piece to slot into. I decided where I wanted to situate it and carefully marked out the square.

As shown above in the video, my structural form interlocked perfectly and became multi-purposed, as demonstrated in the video – one side looks like one design but flip it the other way and it is a second design, which I thought was quite clever.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

1 thought on “The Exploration of ‘Siteless & Cited’ – Contextualisation and Experimentation.”

Leave a Reply

