Purely Ambiguous – M.C. Escher.

The impossible pictures that I have presented have all possessed a quality which, for want of a better word, I shall call pure. – R. Penrose (P150, 1986. M.C. Escher: Art and Science). 


Delving into the mind M.C. Escher has been fruitful as his work  is Mathematical, precise and ambiguous. This relates to my Subject brief on Siteless & Cited, as Escher’s work applies Architectural rules to develop shapes and structures that could not exist in a real space or environment.

We have to create a piece that is purely ambiguous, that has no purpose or function.

Escher took something functional and unambiguous like staircases and applied it in an ambiguous, impossible form.

Going back to my own work, I have been trying to apply the same process. I started with geometric shapes with foam, which I have found quite limiting. There is only so many options you can do with a rectangle or square. In our every day life, we see geometric shapes. They’re in our buildings, pavements, on our keyboards, phones, computers and TVs etc.

Escher took shapes and warped them. I want to do something similar to Escher but with my own style. Keeping that in mind, I started working in ceramic, creating tubular shapes. These I found less limiting, as they seemed so ambiguous, that they warped into different forms every time I looked at them.

I intend to create a more elaborate piece, using plaster and ceramic. Essentially, the idea I’m running with, is to create a multi-structure of tubing. This final piece will be rounded like a nest but constructed with straight lines / tubes.

The final outcome will look like it has function and purpose, but in fact, it will have neither of those.

14680983_1742098169373617_4739160495153337481_o

It is like an upside nest but the inside will be hollow.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

