Prep for Study Group – “The Geometric Puzzle”

Reading up on Monday’s task, I looked through the PDF on Moodle and started researching my chosen object. In this case, the Geometric Puzzle. I looked up its history, its cultural references and how the concept of puzzles influence my work as a Maker.

Below is my thought process:

Aspects of the Object:

  • Interlocking Mechanisms
  • Many small things making up a whole
  • Beyond being a puzzle, its function is ambiguous
  • Architectural elements (every piece must be perfect)
  • Hands on / Engaging
  • Tactile

What is a Puzzle?

  • In a puzzle, one is required to put the pieces together in a logical way, in order to arrive at the correct solution of the puzzle.
  • The word ‘puzzle’ comes from pusle, meaning “bewilder / confound”.
  • Can be made from any material.
  • The puzzle’s value is subjective to the individual trying to solve it.
  • Every culture has its own puzzles.
  • Desire to make and solve puzzles, spans the cultural divide.
  • To me, puzzles represent a safety zone. They all have a solution and they’re logical. In focusing on solving the conundrum of the puzzle, my mind takes on a more relaxed state and removes the anxiety that life can create. 

Myself as a Maker:

  • As a maker, I tend to lean upon logic with my designs. This is what drew me to puzzles. However, in order to break out of this comfort zone, I want to take the concept of a 3D geometric puzzle and warp it.
  • I aim to create more work that is organic and natural in appearance, at least.
  • Although this follows rules of material construction, the outcome of the design would hopefully allow the form to take on a shape of its own and not the the representative of an exact Geometric Puzzle. 
  • I hope to incorporate elements of ambiguous and surreal Architecture.
  • So as a maker, I want my work to transition from being too reliant on logic, to become more of an unsolvable puzzle.
Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

