Ricky Swallow

swallow-00

Ricky Swallow is an Australian sculptor, who lives and works in Los Angeles. He creates detailed pieces and installations in a variety of media, often utilising objects of everyday life as well as the body.

rickyswallow_654456456456

The influence from Ricky Swallow’s work has enabled me to apply the human anatomy and body into the the body of work I am producing. I was captivated by the detail in his sculptures and the realism of the bones. When looking at it, I want to touch it to feel the texture. I want to know if it’s smooth or rough, how the toes feel upon touch.

swallow-03

The severed feet are a beautiful, magnificent piece of artwork. The detail in the feet are so lifelike, that there’s even the finer details of the veins in the feet. I find Ricky Swallow’s work beautiful, inspiring and influential.

xrickyswallow_324234234.jpg.pagespeed.ic.xgahbIzNM1
This piece is absolutely gorgeous and I love it. I love the intense detail of the hands, fingers, veins and fingernails, fingertips and creases of the skin. I love the fragility and vulnerability of the hands. Although this piece isn’t as fragile, I see hands and bones as a fragility of life and I am fascinated by the human body and anatomy. This piece has heavily inspired and influenced my work.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

