3D Print for Field Light


Continuous development for my design for the sensory toy that I aim to produce for my project “Light” in Field. After designing a CAD model in Rhino, I booked the 3D printers to 3D print the prototype.

I was so pleased with my outcome, as it was a lot more tactile with the plastic than I originally thought it would be – the ridges are quite soothing and even the texture of the material gives it another tactile element. I decided to 3D print two, as I want to cast in resin with one, so need to create a silicon cast and wire up LED lights to put into the resin cast so it will have light.

The other, I’m considering drilling into but not sure yet – I may keep the second one as a prototype example for future as I feel I want to develop this piece further into 2nd year, if there is a project brief on Lighting.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

