Sensory Toy – CAD Concept 1.

Following on from my blog post about small designed objects with tactile surfaces (See Blog Post – The Fidget Cube For Reference Here:), I took the concept of the Fidget Cube into mind as I loaded up the CAD Modelling software, Rhino. Rekindling my skills in Rhino provided to be a very fun, beneficial and resourceful morning.

m-01

capture

Under the solid surfaces tool on Rhino (the icon in the photo above, with the small cube as a visual cue), I created an ellipsoid in Rhino. After playing with the size and scale for a good half an hour, I finally found a size I felt would be a comfortable fit for something handheld and portable.

After observing the different features of the Fidget Cube, I started to consider what would be nice tactile surfaces to add onto my sensory toy. I carefully took my time, observing which features I most particularly felt comfortable going back too and started to apply this to my concept design in Rhino. I added three spheres, as the surface will be bumpy when your fingers glide over it. I spent some time rearranging the layout of these, before I moved onto adding three taurus. Different to the texture of the spheres, I resized each individual taurus to create a interactive surface response. I repeated the same process with the rectangle and the cylinder designs.

 

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

