Forge Workshop with Dallas.

Morning induction in the Forge with Dallas this morning was fun and intense! I signed up for the Wednesday morning workshop to be inducted into the Forge, as I want to incorporate metal work into my Subject piece.

We had to create a handle one end of the metal and a spoon the other. It was intense to begin with, as remembering how to hold the metal, with coordination of the hammer. I also kept forgetting I had to hold the metal at 190 angle so it was straight and the metal wouldn’t bend as I hammered it. Once we had our handle and spoon banged into shape, we learned how to create a twisting effect in the middle of the metal which was so cool!

At first, I wasn’t sure if I could physically make the metal object, but after a little while, I started to feel more comfortable with what I was doing and came out of the workshop with an outcome. Although it wasn’t fully perfect, it was a start and that’s all I need. I definitely will be using the Forge now I am inducted!

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

