Light & Colour: Lab 4, Day 2.

This morning, I created a stencil out of black paper, using geometric triangles and a circle. This was going to be my block pattern to screen print with later on. I placed it on the machine with a screen on top, then shut it down and set the timer for 2:00 minutes as this would be enough exposure time to transfer the image onto a screen. Once this was done, I took the screen into the wash area to gently rinse off the excess and left it to dry for 10-15 minutes.

Once my screen was dry, I was ready to screen print. I mixed my paints with the medium to create the ink I’d be printing with.

I must have made at least 20 different screen prints and had a good production line going. When I was happy with the amount I had to work with, I removed the excess ink into an empty pot and then cleaned off all the equipment, whilst my prints were on the rack drying off.

After lunch, we came back and I collected all of my prints from the drying rack. The afternoon task was to cut into, cut out and construct from our screen prints. The freedom of being able to play with paper and construct freely, without purpose or ideas first was interesting and a little challenging, especially as I always want to plan things out first before I make anything. Or at least, have an idea before I go into something.

At first, I tried to make a 3D pop-up using the red paper screen print, but found it looked absolutely naff and I got frustrated with the task at hand very quickly. I ended up scrunching up the pop-up piece of paper out of frustration and actually what I found by doing so, it looked like a flower and that’s when I started working towards a sculptural piece. Using the cardboard I cut up, with the original intention of creating a 3D pop-up book of some sorts that was abandoned when I scrunched up the paper, I created a base to build on.

paper-sculpture

I recycled off-cuts from my screen print, and used them to colour the base, and roll pieces of different off-cuts together, creating different forms that looked organic. At first, they started to look like flames, due to the colours of red and orange, but after consistently building it up in this way, it became more floral and like a garden, as I started to use green.

paper-sculpture-5
I like it more now than I did when I first made it, as I think the colours contrast well and if you turn it on its side, it is like an overwhelming amount of colours reaching out toward you. I like the explosions of colour, as it diverts your eyes and you’re not sure where to look first, because there’s just so much colour and things to see. I thoroughly enjoyed screen printing and didn’t find this session that bad, once I got past the frustration.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

