Aluminium Pour – An Observation.

Due to the collaborative labs in Field, my Sandblast mould was put on the backburner and as a result, was not ready for the Aluminium pour in the foundry. Despite not being able to pour my own mould, I still went along to the pour to observe and have a quick chat with tech-dem Dallas regarding a catch up.

Thankfully, Dallas has informed me that I have two or three more Tuesdays to catch up – it also means I can do an Aluminium pour once my mould is done and I will no longer be behind in this workshop.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By observing, I am feeling confident and more equipped to get into the foundry when my mould is done, to do an Aluminium pour. I have learned the safety code and uniform when participating in hot metal pours and it has made me more excited about working in this area for future pieces of work.

It was a good experience to observe how an Aluminium pour works and the team-work that is required to achieve a pour in the foundry.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

