Plaster Relief Moulds

A few weeks ago, I went for a walk by Llandaff cathedral with two or three pieces of clay in a bag. I wanted to get imprints of walls and trees to create an earthy texture. The idea was to develop this further into a base or sculptural piece for one or more of my experimentations of hands.

I found by impressing clay into stone walls with rough edges and trees with lots of indents and texture, the outcome was substance of land and ground. This was very important, because it is a vital connection that the materials and outcomes match that of what I am trying to visually portray in my work. The earthy ground and muddy texture represents that of the concentration camps, in which thousands of millions were sent to their death.

‘We were walking along in the mud and suddenly my brother and I accused each other of taking bigger bites than we should have done,’ Ivor remembers. ‘We started fighting and wrestling in the mud.’Source.

I’m curious to see if the plaster reliefs are successful, after all, this is all experimental and I’m enjoying every bit of it. I have worked a lot more in Plaster this year and it’s becoming a material I am really enjoying working with.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

