Transparent Resin Experimentation.


Before taking my silicon mould into transparent resin, I did a tester piece with one of Martin’s silicon moulds of a compass. I wanted to test the transparent resin first to make sure it was exactly what I wanted to do with my field project.

I was very pleased with how clear the transparent resin cast was and decided to see what would happen if I introduced coloured inks into the casting process.

I mixed up 50 grams of transparent resin and added in 13 drops of catalyst hardener. I mixed the coloured inks in with the transparent resin and began to freehand paint with them. I let them set for half an hour, then came back and painted a thin shell of resin over the top. I let this set then mixed up 150 grams and 45 drops of catalyst. I poured the resin and left it for a few days before unveiling it. I was very pleased with how the colour worked within the transparent resin but didn’t particularly like the pattern I had created. I intend to do another transparent resin cast, where I will be more specific with how I paint the silicon mould and what colours I use.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

