All Hands – Brian Fell – Cardiff City Centre.

all hands 2all handsBrian Fell, 2001.

The 10 feet tall sculpture known as ‘All Hands’ by Brian Fell, dedicated in 2001, depicts the Canal workers pulling their boats along with heavy ropes. Located on the path of the historic Glamorganshire Canal (Now the X10 bus stop at Custom House Street).
The sculpture appears to be bronze, but it is fabricated from welded steel, and then tinted.

I chose this piece because it is relevant to my practice in subject. The sculpture is ten feet tall, and the detail of the hands is very eye-catching and striking. This makes me question what my sculptural pieces would look like if it was ten feet tall and publicly displayed in the heart of the city centre. I was very convinced that the material in which this sculpture was made, was bronze but as I investigated further, I found it was fabricated with welded steel and tinted , which gives it that bronze looking effect. The hands are largely influential in my practice and I found this piece inspiring, as it demonstrates how provocative a memorial can be.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

