Experimenting with Transparent Resin and Coloured Inks.

Following on from my outcome in transparent resin for my prototype in Field, I wanted to expand my experimentation with the material and how I could incorporate the coloured inks into my design. I followed the same procedure of mixing up 50 grams of transparent resin with 13 drops of hardening catalyst. I mixed the coloured inks in with the transparent resin and followed a similar pattern to begin with, with my first cast. However, I started to streak and play with the colour, adding in more. Once this was done, I let it set for half an hour before coming back to mix up another 50 grams of transparent resin with the same amount of catalyst.

Once the second batch was mixed, I painted two thin shells of transparent resin on each side of the silicon mould. I applied a good coating on each part and then left it to set. I will be aiming to do a transparent resin pour tomorrow in Martin’s workshop.

Author: lawrenceaaronmaker

Studying a BA Hons in Artist, Designer; Maker at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

